Ehlanzeni District Municipality is one of the three district municipalities that form part of the Mpumalanga province. EDM is bordered by Mozambique and Swaziland in the east, Gert Sibande District in the south, Mopani and Sekhukhune Districts of Limpopo in the north and Nkangala District Municipality in the west.It is comprised of five local municipalities: Mbombela, Umjindi, Bushbuckridge, Nkomazi and Thaba Chweu.

Nelspruit (Mbombela) is the capital ofMpumalanga, situated in the Mbombela Local Municipality, which is also the home of the Mpumalanga Provincial Government and as a result is the most concentrated economic hub within the province. It features three border gates to both Swaziland and Mozambique (Matsamo, Komatipoort and Mananga border gates) and therefore movement of people from neighbouring countries to the district, and from Gauteng to either Swaziland or Mozambique, creates a catalyst for the economic life of the area.

Cities/Towns/Locations: Barberton, Emoyeni, Entokozweni, Graskop, Hazyview, Kaapschehoop, Kabokweni, Kanyamazane, Komatipoort, Luphisi, Lydenburg, Malelane, Marloth Park, Matsulu, Mbombela (Nelspruit), Mpakeni, Msogwaba, Ngodwana, Pilgrimsrest, Sabie, Sabie Park, Skukuza, Tekwane, White River

Main Economic Sectors: Mining, agriculture, textiles, tourism, hospitality

Local Municipalities:

local municipalities map

Demarcation Board GIS Spatial data files (December 2005)

EDM also comprises a District Management Area (DMA) in the southern part of Kruger National Park. The total area coverage of the district is approximately 27,895.47 Km2.

South Africa – Mpumalanga Province:

Ehlanzeni District Municipality is located in the Mpumalanga Province, in South Africa

south african map

SA-Mpumalanga Source: Ehlanzeni District Municipality GIS Unit (2008)

Mpumalanga – Ehlanzeni District Municipality:

Ehlanzeni District Municipality is one of three District Municipalities of the Mpumalanga Province

three districts map


Source: Ehlanzeni District Municipality GIS Unit (2008)

Ehlanzeni District Munipalities – Local Municipalities:

The district municipality comprises of five Local Municipalities, namely, Mbombela, Bushbuckridge, Thaba Chweu, Umjindi and Nkomazi Local Municipality.